I have been playing guitar for a few years and getting alot into soloing. I know my major and minor scales, but never used them, I was always stuck with the pentatonic scales.

I was wondering if for example in sweet child o mine, the chord progression for the solo is in Em, if i can play the Em scale pattern throughout the progression or do i have to change with every chord change?

also if i decide to do a run with ''modes'' will I have to change with every chord also?

and will it sound ok to go from a pentatonic minor to a minor scale?
technically
since the solo is in E minor you could use minor pent
Quote by Kensai
It's the pit; nelson mandela could make a thread urging everyone to do an effort towards reducing apartheid politics in some countries and everyone would post a photoshop of him with a melon hat.
Quote by Fappy
technically
since the solo is in E minor you could use minor pent

Thats what i'm doing right now, but i want to turn to something else, not necessarily for that song , but being able to integrate major and minor scales(non pentatonic) into my solos
Try changing the not so vital notes, inserting extra notes in between the ones you use now.
A bit like this, try searching every note you can fit in the scale. Also once you've done that try calculating how to use these notes to get to another scale.
--------------------------------------------------------------12-14-15-----
-----------------------------------------12-14-15-----------------------------
-------------------------------12-13-14----------------------------------
---------------------12--14--------------------------------------------
-----------12--14------------------------------------------------------
-12-14-15----------------------------------------------------------------
Wise Man Says: The guitar is obviously female, she's got hips, breasts... and a hole.
UG's Flamenco Club