And I'm starting out like a complete noob.

Alright, so I've been considering getting a guitar for a good long time, and I've finally gotten a budget of around $400 ($500 if I REALLY fall in love) to get started. My main goal is to be able to learn classical guitar with some guitar tapping and percussive elements. I've been looking for an acoustic-electric simply because my brother said you had to in order to do guitar tapping and such.

Why did I listen to my brother? I don't know. He knows less about guitars than I do.

So anyway, I finally found my favorite acoustic-electric, but it just hit me - How do I even know if I need an acoustic electric?

For reference, here's the beautiful acoustic-electric I have so fallen in love with.

Ibanez AEL20E

I'd be taken home the blue.

What exactly are the pros to acoustic-electrics if you don't plan on planning live shows? Are there ANY pros? Can you make it sound both electric and acoustic? Or is it pretty much just a loud acoustic with a nice tuner? If I use an acoustic amp does it sound acostic and an electric amp it sounds electric? I know you use acoustic strings.

It comes down to this - I want classical guitar with guitar tapping, but it would be awesome if I could sound electric at times. Should I just stick with acoustic?

Thanks for your time.
Last edited by Iokina at Jun 21, 2008,
It will always sound like an acoustic, because it is an acoustic. If you don't want to gig, I don't know why you'd need an electro-acoustic.
Barry White is cooler than you
Quote by Deliriumbassist
I really wish I could say you're funny and cool, but that would be like saying Africa doesn't have a poverty problem.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Espana-AcousticElectric-Classical-Guitar?sku=519945