yeah so I've been practicing for about 6 months so far and have begun to notice myself doing that really quick hand slide movement up the neck of the guitar and then down again. it's like something thats done after i've finished playing a section of a song or a riff and am about to start something new. i was just wondering: why the hell do guitarists do this? is it something to do with rhythm or from keeping unwanted notes from ringing out?
i do it too its funny because i just started doing it without thinking about it i guess its mainly because it stops unwanted noises and it sounds cool.
Quote by PotBellyShogun
yeah so I've been practicing for about 6 months so far and have begun to notice myself doing that really quick hand slide movement up the neck of the guitar and then down again. it's like something thats done after i've finished playing a section of a song or a riff and am about to start something new. i was just wondering: why the hell do guitarists do this? is it something to do with rhythm or from keeping unwanted notes from ringing out?

Some people encorporate the noise from doing so into their riffs, like Buckethead does sometimes for solos.

I'm sure there's another reason, but I have no idea.
Gear:
Fender P-Bass
BC Rich Trace Warbeast
Amps and pedals that make me go BAWWWW.

Need:
Lessons on music theory
A job
I've seen guitarists do this all the time...like they get way too excited and jack off the fretboard...

i've never done that in my life though
When you're really feeling the groove, you don't gotta jive it. If you don't wanna jive it just show the old mahogany some love and it'll groove like you wouldn't believe.
All your base are belong to us.
I do it...and I have no idea why. As far as I can tell it serves no useful purpose whatsoever, it's just some kind of nervous tick or something.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc