I am looking to buy a new guitar and went to the store and was looking at some guitars. I originally went there to look at an ESP LTD EC-400VF but I saw a nice black jackson DKMG, I really like this guitar but I have two issues.

1. Right now my current guitar has a set neck even though its a cheap guitar, but this one has bolt on. Is it going to be a problem? I know most good guitars have set neck or neck-thru so I don't know if this will be a problem.

2. I have never used a floyd rose before, I think this comes with one, or else its just a double locking tremolo. I have heard issues about if it isn't set up properly the springs can vibrate and make the guitar sound like ****. If I do buy this guitar should I get the tremolo set up by a professional.
Quote by Pagan-Pie
All Fenders have bolt-on necks.

/Thread.

+1

And with the double-locking trem, there are a couple great guides on the UG forums somewhere that can help you setting up and stuff.

The first time you get it you might want to get it set up professionally, just as an initial thing, but there shouldn't be any real problem for you to do it yourself with some practice.
|~| Iron Maiden addiction |~|
\m/ \m/

gear in profile
It's a less labour intensive and cheaper option than set in necks, but it has its advantages also, such as distinctive tone and more structural stability of the neck. It's all a matter of preference. Fender uses bolt on necks so by no means is it an undesirable feature.
Short answer, no.
mmmmmmhmmm

That's exactly what I've been trying to say.

Quote by munkymanmatt
brilliant
Set necks give you more sustain, but not by enough to make a really big difference, with bolt ons repairs are far cheaper than with sets, so if your low on cash i would go with the bolt on
the main reason people like set necks instead of bolt ons is that it's usually easier to play higher up on the neck with a set neck...

someone people say that it affects sound etc but i dont see how...