Page 1 of 2
Ok, not really, well maybe...

Anyway, I've been playing guitar for 2 1/2 years, but pretty much after the first years I just lost interest. I got pretty good, but all I did was learned how to read tabs and play songs from other artists, and not so difficult songs at that. I want to start a band, but I sure as hell am not ready. What do I need to learn in order to start writing my own songs and guitar parts? I really know absolutely nothing about music theory and all that stuff. What should I do to bring my interest in guitar back up? I actually want to play, but I'm just too lazy. I thought that I should maybe buy a new guitar, I have two but one sucks, and a shiny new guitar might give me motivation to play it. Help me out guys.
We spent a lifetime on the
Beaches of Normandy in vain

Quote by poopsmith666
oooh look at me, i'm clincher, internet tough guy

Quote by theBaartMan
When Nostradamus predicted badassery, he spoke of clincher09.

<//////> ~

UG's NIN fan club
start trying to learn music theory through this site it makes you fell like your getting better
Quote by haha
every time I see your username I press F8 out of curiosity then I have to give myself a big ol' facepalm

Quote by ouch
What the hell? F8 doesn't do anything interesting This toy is lame

Quote by TheReverend724
I can have a beer later, I need to level Charmeleon NOW!
The most important thing is to learn your scales and chords, and then learn to put them together. Honestly, you dont need lessons for this. Just try to connect yourself to the scales and chords and treat it as an emotional vent. Whenever I get tired of guitar, I try to put myself in a strong emotional and artistic state. I try to get very happy, sad, angry, whatever. Then I try to express myself through that. Over time, ou get better at expressing yourself through your music. At first you might suck, but dont give up, it can take years before you get good at that.