Hi peoples! I'm new to the UG Community and I had a couple questions for all you experienced folks. Now I'm planning on buying an Epiphone Masterbilt AJ-500M really soon. I currently have an Epiphone G-400 and some crap acoustic I picked up when I was extremely new to playing. I've recently been getting into some old classical rock and unplugged stuff. The AJ-500M seemed the acoustic for me as I was shopping around because apparently it has great tone and warmth, just what I was looking for. Now as I was searching around, I saw something about humidifiers and I was wondering if I would need one for this Masterbilt? I live in Central California like 5 minutes from the coast. The climate isn't humid or anything but I don't know if its humid enough. I plan on getting a gigbag along with it so if I kept it in that while I'm not playing it would I be ok? Or should I buy a humidifier just incase. Recommendations of some good, cheap humidfiers would be appreciated too. Thanks for your time UG Community!
Hey thats crazy I live on the Central Coast also.

The humidity here is pretty much perfect for guitars. Inside my house its pretty much always right at about 50%. I've never had need for a humidifier and the owner of guitar shop I talked to said he's never needed one either in about 30 years here.

It's just a great climate around here.
It's Only Rock and Roll, But I like It
^ He speaks truth. That area of Cali is one of the best in the country for maintaining anything wood, not only guitars. A few hours drive east to Tucson, and you have air that's dryer than a popcorn fart. Head up here to my neck of the woods and you'll see 90 and 95% humidity in the summer. Yuck! No worries on your part as far as humidity levels go. But I would suggest you invest in a hardshell case instead of the gigbag. The added security will ease your worries about bringing the guitar places without damaging it.