I recently began teaching a friend of mine how to play the acoustic guitar.. I myself am self taught and have been playing for 2 years...I am more of an electric guy, so i was wondering if anyone could help my out, to as what are good beginner acoustic songs and excercises other then just chords....thanks for any help
It's going to be hard on his fingers so most of all teach him patience. A few open chords will have him set for at least a week or two so I wouldn't worry about any songs at the moment.

I would recommend G, C, D7 G in that order, because they can all be played openly, they are a good place to start and since they are a I IV V I in G major lots and lots of songs will be based from it.

G:320003
C: x32010
D7: xx0212

Make sure he practises it really really slowly and accurately and check any bad habits he might develop and cut them out. That way he'll progress faster and will be an overall better player. Good luck.

Quote by confusius
It's going to be hard on his fingers so most of all teach him patience. A few open chords will have him set for at least a week or two so I wouldn't worry about any songs at the moment.

I would recommend G, C, D7 G in that order, because they can all be played openly, they are a good place to start and since they are a I IV V I in G major lots and lots of songs will be based from it.

G:320003
C: x32010
D7: xx0212

Make sure he practises it really really slowly and accurately and check any bad habits he might develop and cut them out. That way he'll progress faster and will be an overall better player. Good luck.

I am sort of teaching myself/watching JustinGuitar, and reading forums and whatnot. What kind of bad habits do you speak of? I really do not want to learn bad habits. Do you feel it's necessary to have a teacher early on?
I'd also (next to C, D7 and G) teach D, Dm, A, Am, E, Em, F (1123xx, teach this one last, it's the hardest one in this row). Those chords keep on coming back in all songs.