Hey everyone I was hoping I could seek some of your advice. I'm rather new to playing guitar, only jamming on my friends guitar and amp and have recently conjured up the funds to purchase the necessities. I like to play mainly metal but am looking for a somewhat versatile amp. I have roughly $100 to spend, give or take 20 bucks, and am looking for the best value for the price in a practice/garage jamming amp. I've done a lot of searching and just can't find the assuring information I'm looking for in my situation. The ROLAND CUBE 15x has caught my attention as well as the VOX Pathfinder 15R, but am still very unsure. I'm planning on playing an Ibanez RG2EX1 through it as well.

Can anyone give me some recommendations on a $100 or so amp based on their experience/opinions? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I'm not too concerned with an array of effects and flash, I am just wanting to learn the basics, clean and distortion is all I need as I am to purchase some pedals in the future.

THANKS!
Last edited by adavicro at Jun 23, 2008,
Roland Microcube or Cube 30.

The 15 doesn't have the good features of the others.
Dissonance is Bliss

Signal Chain:
Carvin CT-4
Ibanez TS-9
Carvin Quad-X
TC Electronics G-Major
Mesa/Boogie 2:90
Ear Candy BuzzBomb

Member #4 of the Carvin Club