Yes I did it! I stole from Gibson! Rubs hands maniacly (sp?)

Anyway, for my first project, I basically wanted to build a Gibson Firebird V out of a different body wood and use different pickups for a different metal sound, similar to Rammstein and Metallica.

I also wanted to give it a personal finish including some simple inlays on the neck and headstock. Am I going too far for a first timer?

My dad is good with his hands and specializes in wood and electronics, but he's never built a guitar before (but he's built a gun, fancy that)

Body- Mahogany or Alder
Neck- Maple, Thin U
Fingerboard- Rose wood
Scale- 25.5"
Neck through construction
Grover Tuners
Pups- EMG 81 Bridge and Neck
Frets- 24 Extra Jumbo
Hardware- Black or Black Chrome
Black Pickgaurd
Input Jack on side of body
Solid Body Guitar
Control- Tone/Tone/Volume

How much would the tools and materials cost?
Any help would be greatly appreciated, I know I'm a noob stepping into dangerous territory...
Better, Faster, Stronger

Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas State Wildcats
Quote by airbrendie
Hey guys in the last 3 weeks I ****ed all the girls in this picture, what do you think?

Quote by DiMeTiMe

....LOLOLOLOLOLOL

Sounds cool .

can you say immature?
Quote by Gunpowder
C'mon, man. We're just kidding. We all know that drummers are important.

After all, without drummers, who would bag my groceries?

(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Put him in your signature and help
(")_(") him on his way to world domination.
hahaha sorry but you set yourself up for it, but sounds cool. So it'll be a v with rounded edges or what?
Hehe i was bout to quote that line but got beat to it =( sounds like a good idea, question, why EMG 81 in both neck and bridge position? Nothing wrong with that just most people (me included) tend to go for 81 and 85.
Quote by rebelmidget
your pubes are like the amazon rainforest and your body is planet earth. trim a little here and there and your life will be more comfortable