I've been playing for a couple of months and when i started guitar i only used downpicking, now almost all songs i learn i use downpicking, like i can play unholy confessions by avenged sevenfold with only downpicking and pretty much of master of puppets
So, is it really important to learn alternative picking? like will i have very hard to learn songs etc?
I think you'd find playing those songs much easier with alternate picking. I mean, whatever works for you is fine, but I think you'd find a lot of songs much less challenging if you learned it.
it would help alot. its also not a very hard skill to learn, so i'd say go ahead and learn it.
MM Stingray
MIA P Bass
MIM Jazz Bass
GK 700RB-II Head
GK 410SBX Cab
Sansamp 3 Ch. DI
Crybaby Bass Wah
Bass Big Muff
DD3 Delay

MIA Strat
Nashville Tele
Martin 00015M
Hot Rod Deluxe
Big Muff
DS1
Hendrix Crybaby Wah
If you plan on learning some solos, it wil make them many times easier and more comfortable to play. I would say yes you have too but thats me
LIFE IS TOO SHORT NOT TO LET YOUR MIND SPREAD WINGS AND TAKE FLIGHT

Quote by KeepOnRotting
+Infinity. This dude knows good metal.
I can't imagine it will be easy or even possible to play faster riffs using nothing but down picking but if you can pull it off, then go for it. At least you're testing the limits of your ability.

Schecter C-1 Classic (Antique Amber)
Ibanez JEM 7VWH
Crate Palamino Class A tube combo
Digitech RP80 Multieffects pedal
Ibanez TS9 DX Tube Screamer
Quote by ryphe
I've been playing for a couple of months and when i started guitar i only used downpicking, now almost all songs i learn i use downpicking, like i can play unholy confessions by avenged sevenfold with only downpicking and pretty much of master of puppets
So, is it really important to learn alternative picking? like will i have very hard to learn songs etc?

Go learn Damage Inc. with down picking if it's so great