i am deciding to get a combo amp for practice and stuff that is 100 watts.

i cant decide over the marshall mg100dfx or the fender frontman 212r 100watt amp

or should i buy a fender tube amp for a safe price

my budget is $600 or $700

i play rock, metal, and blues

please dont comment on if my choices are bad i know they arent the best but im not a professional and i just want big sound to match my drummer and with distortion in it
Last edited by slash717315 at Jun 25, 2008,
Both of hose are pretty horrible amps.

What do you play?

What's your budget?

YOU DON'T NEED 100W!
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
The Frontmans better, what's your budget?
Quote by chip46
"I'm discontinuing production on the Timmy now as well. It might come back into production at some point down the road, but probably not because people will just clone it anyway cause they're stupid jerk face doo doo heads. -Paul C."
don't buy 100 watts of solid state crap, buy like 40 of all tube awesomeness, it'll be just as loud
blues junior fasho, stay away from the marshall mg series, especially on ug. personally i love fenders, but if you have to money definatly get a tube instead of a solid. 40w tube ~ 100w solid.
I have a Fender Blues Junior for bedroom practicing and it is great but if I wanted a combo amp that was versatile (practice and gigging) I'd go with the Carvin Steve Vai Legacy. I played one a couple of months ago and it had so many sublties in sound that I was blown away. The four-EL34 matched Groove Tubes and five 12AX7's were sweet and it's a little over $1000. Marshal's have a great specific sound but not very flexible if youy play a wide range of styles and a Fender 100w combo is going to run about $1400 so I would still choose the Carvin.
I guess the TS ran away to hopefully do some research and go - ooops.