Hi i bought a B.C. Rich Kerry King V, and i have a little 15g Starcaster amp and i really can't afford lessons now i spent my bundle lol, i was curious Are there any dvd,cds,Book Combos that are out there i can get to help me progress i have this single book "teach yourself guitar" but it really isn't for me, Another problem i have is When i try and play tabs i get very frustrated as well my hands and eyes don't seem to get along i will be looking at the tab and i will want to play this string but miss completely are there exercises you can do but anyways I'm here to get some recommendations on good self taught techniques.
Last edited by DaveMustaineFan at Jun 25, 2008,
Break the tab up into sections and memorize them individualy(chorus, harmony, etc.), so you dont have to look at the tabs constantly.
This book has helped me tremendously. I got through it in just over a week and I'm going to start on Book 2 when it gets here from Amazon tomorrow. It teaches you how to read real music notication which IMO is better than tab, and the lessons present a great progression for a n00b. Comes with a CD to show you how the main pieces are supposed to sound.

Also, practice practice practice.
Wow guys i appreciate the fast responses they are really helpful keep them coming i want a a lot of things i can check out to see what im comfortable with.
Books? There are hundreds of websites that will teach you guitar for free... I learnt a lot from Youtube, type in guitar lessons and see the thousands of videos to choose from!

honestly i cant find anything that i used in the past that would help you i never really used books or instructional videos i just sat in front of my computer and stared at the tabbs and never gave up hope and just pushed on from there
      i would use
      youtube and Ultimate guitar
      and practice like if you don't get it someone will kill you
      Quote by I Be Andyy
      That gives you rank of -10 out of 10. You fail. Go play the flute.