could someone put it in dummy terms for me???... i dont know any music terms or anything so i dont know much lol
Last edited by GUITARNOVICE420 at Jun 25, 2008,
music is a language . you can memorise some things , or you can understand it
Theory in basic form is know how all musical scales and notes fit together as well as being able to sight read notation. I'm no theory expert so I've probably missed something out which no doubt some uber-theory elitist will not hesitate to tell me.
Theory is basically in "dummy terms" the reasoning behind WHY certain notes and chords sound good with other notes and chords and why some don't. I don't know how to dumb it down more than that.... if anyone else does, be my guest.
Lyrics: Time wasted between solos.

After a mindboggling 3-hour Steve Vai concert, I had to listen to some brainless guitar playing... so I put on Nevermind...

Jesus Rocks!
well i guess my problem is not really fingering position but i dont know where to go next on the fretboard does theory help there?
Quote by riffer_raffer
Theory is basically in "dummy terms" the reasoning behind WHY certain notes and chords sound good with other notes and chords and why some don't. I don't know how to dumb it down more than that.... if anyone else does, be my guest.

yes yes yes thats my problem sooo i need to study some theory then.....are the summaries of thoery on ug any good to study??
Quote by GUITARNOVICE420
could someone put it in dummy terms for me???... i dont know any music terms or anything so i dont know much lol

From Wiki: