I know I must sound real stupid, but as the title says I wanna' learn to shred.

Ive been playing for 3 years now, and I can alternate pick, and tremelo pick and what not.

I can improvise some solos, but I can't get the fast stuff. Is there any easy way to become a fast player? Or not?

And sorry if this is in the wrong section.
There are no shortcuts in doing anything good. You need to practice and practice correctly to gain speed. Read this post about half way down I talk about the whole topic of picking fast.

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=876114
Quote by dale-banez

my gear:
oh wait, no one cares

Quote by uncboy19
man all guitars are female. if they werent you couldn't make sweet love to them with your fingers. ok somebody better quote that ****. thats like quantum guitar **** rite there.
Quote by shredder.cheese
There are no shortcuts in doing anything good. You need to practice and practice correctly to gain speed.

What he said. Correct and constant practice is the only way to get there.
Get really good at playing the guitar - there's nothing you specifically need to do or learn to be a "shredder", they're just very good guitarists.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by shredder.cheese
There are no shortcuts in doing anything good. You need to practice and practice correctly to gain speed. Read this post about half way down I talk about the whole topic of picking fast.

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=876114

Thanks man, your reply on that topic really helped.

To all other posters, Ill do everything you said to try and get better. Thanks guys.
Quote by nightraven
concern yourself with accuracy instead of speed. developing speed will happen over time.

+1
Speed is a byproduct, not a result
-Guitar Gear-