hey guys i've been playing bass for a couple months now and i cant seem to find tabs for any of the songs i want to learn so i was wondering if you could give me any tips or cds/programs that could help me better learn songs by ear
Start with something really simple such as a pop song - anything really with a nice well defined repeating bass line. Apart from that, the rest will come over time as you play more often...

You lay me down as I go to the store
Sorrow ate me, I'm not me anymore
Play these heavens one more time
I'm not yours and I'm not mine

When you hear music after it's over, it's gone in the air.
You can never capture it again.

pfftt... sry buddy but i can guarantee that at a couple months of playing you wont even be able to attempt at playing by ear. like i can almost guarantee your bass is out of tune right now. haha
Gear:

2007 Fender Highway 1 Stratocaster (MIA)

Mesa Boogie Express 5:25

Yamaha Acoustic

Member of the Eric Johnson Worshippers Club.
this is the bass forum...not guitar forum...please go be a dick over there, ya?
spaghetti-etti-etti
you fill me up with you carbohydrates
and energize me with simple sugars <3
i feel bad now. haha. im not trying to put you down or anything but at three months of playing everyone is like that.
Gear:

2007 Fender Highway 1 Stratocaster (MIA)

Mesa Boogie Express 5:25

Yamaha Acoustic

Member of the Eric Johnson Worshippers Club.
Ignore the guy above; there is absolutely no harm in trying to get a song down by ear.

As a matter of interest, what are the songs you're interested in?

You lay me down as I go to the store
Sorrow ate me, I'm not me anymore
Play these heavens one more time
I'm not yours and I'm not mine

When you hear music after it's over, it's gone in the air.
You can never capture it again.

Try singing the notes out loud even if your voice sucks it might help you remember the sound of the notes better.
Referring to Victor Wooten
Quote by Nutter_101