I've been playing for a few years and the band I'm in wants to do a small local gig next month.

Problem is I can't play standing up. I always play sitting down and I sound a lot worse when standing. I keep my guitar at normal waist level, nothing too low or high but my left arm has to strain to play the first 4-5 frets easily ex.- chromatic intro to Master of Puppets. My picking hand is also parallel to the strings when I play sitting down, which makes playing and palm muting much easier, but when standing it up it as at an angle and makes trem picking and PM'ing harder.

I'll take some pictures of my hand posture later to show what the problem is, but any tips would be useful.
Just gotta practice standing up man. Maybe raise the guitar a little bit at first, then lower it if you really want to later.
-D
This is a clever, witty signature. Rofl at my glory.
do you flat pick? and it would probly be easier if you raise you guitar up and if you flat pick try angeling up pick it will make it alott easier but the main thing u gotta do is stand and practice
pro tools operator certified
agile in-ceptor 727
gibson:les-paul studio
fender:strat
ibanez:prestiege s2170se s520ex
esp:ec-1000vb
splawn nitro kt88s
genz-bends g-flex

Quote by Punkismygod
U sure u want a floydrose? those things will make your nerves explode
well... you should practice standing up. its the only way.
Otherwise, try bringing a stool on stage.
I had this problem aswell, and i still have this problem, its just like starting guitar again, just play a song sitting down adn then play it standing up, you ahve a month to practice, i'm sure you can manage I HAVE FAITH IN YOU, DON'T LET ME DOWN!

:P
Gear

Guitars - Fender Deluxe Player Strat, Squier Affinity Strat, Ibanez TCM - 50

Amps - Fender Blues Deluxe

Effects - Boss ME-50

Other - Banjo

Jazz Is not music, Its a way of life
Quote by Twisted Magnum
I've been playing for a few years and the band I'm in wants to do a small local gig next month.