I've been noticing that lately that I haven't been progressing hardly at all and my fingers are freezing up in the middle of songs and I need some finger exercises that I can do when I'm not playing or something help would be appreciated thank you
Quote by mrvile
What do you mean by your "fingers are freezing up?"

Probably means locking up. Mine do that and i usually have to crack my knuckles to get them free again.
Gear:
Electric
Yamaha RGX520
Fender Strat HSS

Acoustic
1952 Martin and Co 00-18.
Yamaha FGX730SCA

Amp
Fender Twin Reverb
Fender Amp FM25 DSP

Pedals
Boss DS-1
Quote by jxmxaxn
Probably means locking up. Mine do that and i usually have to crack my knuckles to get them free again.

Hmm, that's never happened to me before but it sounds scary

But yeah, the 5-6-7-8 from string to string is a good excercise. My friend's teacher (I'm self-taught) tells him to do that every day to warm up and I trust that it's legit.
What I mean by my fingers freezing up is I'm playing a song and all of a sudden my fingers just stop and freeze and its like I have almost no control over them anymore and it takes like 10 minutes before I can start playing again and its just horrible because its stoping me from learning new songs and I can't progress at all and I'm not sure why.
Quote by DanteLord
-------5--6--7--8--

on all the strings. just go up and down and try to get all of them correct.

good but also variations upon, such as goin thorugh these:

-5-6-7-8---6-7-8-5---7-8-5-6---8-5-6-7

then start stretching your fingers:

-4-6-7-8---4-5-7-8---4-5-6-8---4-6-7-9---4-6-8-10-

thats about it for linier exercises. Move those patterns accross the strings and along the fret board. Start the stretches on higher frets for less straing and move lower for larger stretches through time.

=]