Ok so I have a bunch of questions because today is one of those days.

1. Ive been playing on and off for a little over a year now and have just started to become alot more serious and committed to my guitar playing. Since its been awhile since I was playing regularly (I started playing again around the first week of June) I was wondering if I should focus on my open chords more or just keep practicing barre chords for the most part. There is a cover of Heart Of Gold by Neil Young in my profile and it would be great if you could tell me if I should continue to work on them more or focus more on barre chords.

Mods: I dont think question number 1 goes against the rule of making "How good am I" threads but if it does I would gladly have that question removed just dont close down the whole thread please.

2. Since Im going to be practicing barre chords like crazy what are some ways that you practice barre chords? Im really just looking for ideas because the only way I have been practicing them is doing them SUPER SLOW with my metronome switching between them.

3. Ok ill admitt it, my technique is crazy sloppy. Songs like Take Five that I have been practicing for weeks I still cant play at half speed decently. And on top of that I have no technique exercises. So some technique exercises would be a god send. I would probably want them to build finger strength and practice alternate picking. Any exercises that are helpful but dont have to do with those two things would also be awesome as well.

4. Speaking of alternate picking, my guitar teacher taught me that you down pick on the down beat and pick up on the up beat. Now I recently started thinking about this and if you have to pick super fast wouldnt that totally throw away the concept if you were doing 16th notes. Could some buddy clear this up for me?

Ok Thanks

Note: Im playing on an acoustic if that makes a difference