Page 1 of 2
Just post if you play violin, viola, cello, or double bass.

I've been playing violin for 5 years and am in a regional symphony orchestra. I like to play fast, technical pieces (Accolay- Concerto in A minor, Bach- Concerto in A minor, Brahms- Concerto in D major, etc.)

I like playing because it is a totally different experience tahn guitar and is a dying art- read: I would estimate less than 10 people on UG can actually play a violin and NOT sound like absolute crap. I've seen people that have been playing for 12 years and cant even play grade 5 music.

And you thought guitarists were elitists?

The thing I like about violin is that you cant just pick it up, take lessons, and play. You have to have a calling for it, like a talent. It takes much more thought and discipline to play a violin well than guitar.

Last edited by Twisted Magnum at Jun 29, 2008,
no, guitarists are "coolists". you can do a lot cooler stuff with a guitar.

actually, violin is one of my favourite instruments, though i cant play it, and i have respect for anyone who can play any instrument (not the triangle, of course!!!).
Quote by mh.666
This man is right.

My life in all aspects is going fucking brilliantly, so I just thought I'd offer a cyncial scrap of wisdom, gloat a little, and then leave.
Quote by Flying Couch
I play viola, and I don't sound like crap. Does that count?

2 letters off is close enough
My mate plays violin, had a pickup put on it as well. I had a go, and its pretty similat to guitar, you just have to get used to it being fretless. Played a couple of riffs and stuff but it sounded too scratchy to me. I'd quite like to have the chance to play a Cello at some point.
RULE BRITANNIA
Cello is pretty fun to play. I dont "play" it, but its fun to play with. The bigger the instrument ex. violin>viola>cello>double bass, the larger the intervals, which can get confusing at times. I also cant read music in bass clef, so I cant really play higher level cello pieces.