Hey everyone,

I have been playing guitar for about five years now, and I mostly play jazz and metal. I currently own a Godin SD, which is a great value, versatile guitar. However, I recently made a bit of money and I think it is time for a new guitar. I regularly gig with jazz combos and big bands at my high school, but I enjoy playing metal as well. However, I am not in any sort of rock or metal band at this time.

The point is, I am trying to eventually have a guitar for jazz that I can gig with, and a guitar for metal that I can use at home, and hopefully for some gigs down the road if I can get a band going. I would really appreciate some recommendations as to what my next guitar should be, considering I am looking at a new shred/metal guitar for a reasonable price (probably $600 max), or possibly a hollow-body or jazz guitar in the same price range. I was maybe looking at the Alexi Laiho ESP (the cheaper model), but I have no idea if it is any good or not (though I am a huge fan of Children of Bodom). Does it still make sense to get a metal-oriented guitar even if I am not gigging with it? In that case, would a jazz-oriented guitar make more sense?

I would really appreciate any recommendations anyone can give me about guitars that would work for my situation. I hope what I wrote above makes sense!

Thanks a lot
The Alexi V would be a good one. I am a Bodom fan myself and that's the next guitar I'm planning to get. I know it would be good for metal because it has active pick-ups. I'm not too sure about the Jazz side of it because I just play metal
To be honest most guitars can get a decent metal tone as long as they're got humbuckers in but if you get a metal oriented guitar with a neck humbucker you can switch to that on a clean sound and turn the tone knob down a bit to get a pretty convincing jazz tone. As for a specific guitar it all comes down to preference; what sort of guitars do you like apart from the Godin?