Ok im a really dedicated guitarist but very new to music theory or even getting into routine practicing. Im one of those guys that learned song that were fun to play for three years and picked up everything from it. But for the past year or so ive been going to a guitar instructor and he has really influenced me to practice like crazy (him and petrucci that is) and i do practice ALOT and i will keep doing so. But when i practice its not fulfilling enough. I dont feel like im actually getting better even when i use a metronome and sometimes i get so hopeless with the whole music theory thing. Ive just started learning the major scale and the CAGED method of it but i have no idea what the significance of the CAGED method is and i dont know a good way to practice the scales to get them dead set in my head. Im also doing sweep picking which im also confused with because i dont even know how many different shapes there are to practice or anything. The problem with me isnt that "i dont know" its that i dont know what TO ASK about which is worse to me. I want to actually understand my guitar instead of feeling so limited when i try to make a song or even mess around on it.Can anyone out there help me?
(and im not saying my guitar instructor is bad or anything BTW he is actually very helpful,but half an hour a week doesnt give me enough time to ask the right questions or for him to explain hardly anything to me.
You know the open C,A,G,E,and D chords? Well you can turn them into barre chords to move them all around the fretboard. That's what CAGED is. It's quite simple. I should post back in here with a lot more stuff.
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
Oh yes i know that u can turn them into barre chords and such but i dont understand why the major scale has these five patterns in the first place.