I'm relatively new to bass and having trouble using the ring finger to pluck, especially when moving between strings. Got any exercises to help me get some coordination? Other than say...chromatics?

Cheers.
Just keep practicing, it'll come naturally with time.
45 days without my precious UG...
CURSE YOU LOLWUT PEAR!!!

Quote by eggo_boi_15
Arnt the first few things anyone learns on a guitar is

1. Nirvana - smells like teen spirit
2. Prince - Smoke on the water
3. White stripes - seven nation army
Most bass players don't use the ring finger to pluck they use the index and middle. Your not going to be any faster using a third finger to pluck as index-middle-index-middle is just like picking alternate strokes (up-down-up-down) with a guitar pick. The only time the ring finger might come in handy is picking out chords.
Quote by dale-banez

my gear:
oh wait, no one cares

Quote by uncboy19
man all guitars are female. if they werent you couldn't make sweet love to them with your fingers. ok somebody better quote that ****. thats like quantum guitar **** rite there.
you might want to see ur hand posistion in general tilt ur wrist a little bit to the right and then try so your playing slightly angled instead of straight down i used to play straight down but then i started doing this and instantly for me atleast using the middle and ring finger became easier
Dick+strings= owww
I'd suggest you don't worry about learning three finger technique for the time being. I think it's a red herring in terms of trying to increase speed. It's more likely that the left hand technique is slowing you down at this stage.
Well I should have added that i've been playing guitar for a couple years now, so my fretboard fingering is pretty decent..
Ok first off, this has NOTHING to do with fretting. TS will agree, that finger picking with a bass is completely differnt than guitar playing.

Second, just PRACTISE.
'Nuff said.