Hey everybody, I am a college student from the US and at the end of August I am going to spend the semester abroad in Bath. My question is this, because of all my baggage, I am going to have to leave my guitars at home, and buy an acoustic when I get over there. This is going to have to be a real budget guitar (preferably less than 80 pounds). So does anyone have any suggestions of any stores in the area i could check out for something that is cheap, and still sounds somewhat decent. Any help would be great, thanks.
There are a few decent guitar shops in Bath, and there's plenty in Bristol too. You're bound to find something decent.
Why not wait until you get there, and find some people who can help you? It'll be a great way to meet someone interested in guitars, and make a friend or two.
The will to neither strive nor cry,
The power to feel with others give.
Calm, calm me more; nor let me die
Before I have begun to live.

-Matthew Arnold

Arguments are to be avoided; they are always vulgar and often convincing.
You're stepping into argos guitar territory here my friend.

You can get an acoustic for £15 if you don't mind the tone of cardboard.

Electric-wise you could get a low end squier, or maybe some sort of mid range beginner guitar second hand.

You're best bet would be second hand, I know someone who got a decent Epiphone SG for £30, so look in the local Ad-mag.
Last edited by rizo299 at Jun 30, 2008,
Quote by Dinkydaisy
Why not wait until you get there, and find some people who can help you? It'll be a great way to meet someone interested in guitars, and make a friend or two.

Agreed. Also Argos guitars aren't a super great bet.
You may well have to turn to Argos, but before that I would check Duck, Son and Pinker. It's a music and instrument shop by the shopping center in Bath, they may have a few bargains
Half Iago, half Fu Manchu, all bastard.
You can definitely get some decent Classical Guitars for less than £80, though Daisy has the best point.