I have a Strat and Im in a metal band.. Im getting new pickups. Duncan JB ... Im getting it to move to more of a metal tone. Im new to pickups so im kinda lost... I only need to be one correct? And if so... Do I put the pickup on the bridge, or neck? Ive seen both done..I have one volume knob, and two tone Knobs..In previous posts people have argueed about that so im stating it now. Please dont leave feedback syaing im making a wrong decision..If you do..AT LEAST answer my question. Thanks guys. I appreciate it. :]
you're making a TERRIBLE decision LOL. you NEED a nice tube amp before you go upgrading pups, otherwise the difference in tone will be MINIMAL. you'll notice a tad more output probably, but it won't go from bland sounding to awesome sounding, it'll just be a lil more defined.

if you're gonna upgrade pups, get em ALL done at one time. but before that, get a REAL amp.

that's the facts bro.
My MAIN Gear
*Dunlop CFH
*fellow LEO feel free to give a shout out
looked at your other thread where you asked for a good concert amp and ur budget was like no more than $300 rite?

no offense, but most new guys go for a SS amp in that price range.

am i wrong? if you DO have a tube amp, then by all means do what you were planning BUT swap ALL the pups so that way they ALL sound better.
My MAIN Gear
*Dunlop CFH
Ha. well Its just that my income isnt too high at the time...so i was planning on doing the pickups first..i am in fact getting a tube amp in like 2 months. Thanks though. I really appreicate your help
well just think about this:

you could get the pups FIRST and notice a small change, and have to wait till you build ur saved money back up to what it is now and THEN even more to get a good amp, OR

you could save more money NOW and have a nice tube amp SOONER, which will result in HUGE tonal difference (good one) and upgrade pups later down the road when ur savings get up again.