I am not very good with the fretboard. I want to know like instantly what fret is what note and the notes across all 6 strings of a fret and everything. I know it will take alot of time to memorize but does anyone have any tips or tricks on how they learned the fretboard. Im simply looking for an effective method and im open to any opinons.
Yeah man thats a no brainer. But what to practice to learn the fretboard faster and more efficiently?
Set a metronome to 60. then choose a note, say C. Now find the two C notes on each string as every beat clicks. Ex. Play 8th fret E string then 20th each quarter notes (one beat)

EDIT: Oh and also Fretboard warrior. Google it. Sorry about the above post but some of us get lazy with questions and tend to answer simply with practice but thats really the best thing to do.
Last edited by Ssargentslayer at Jul 1, 2008,
get a book. I got the guitar fretboard workbook by Barrett Tagliarino and it helped alot. Also, check out this site:

http://www.zentao.com/guitar/theory/

1)Print off a bunch of the fretboard diagrams
2)Do them
3)????
4)Profit.
Washburn WI66 Pro E Celtic Cross (1 of 48!)
Washburn WI66 Pro Honeyburst
Takamine EG334SC Acoustic-Electric
Peavey XXX 120W All Tube Half Stack
Line6 MM4/FM4/DL4
Boss NS2
Vox Snakecharmer Compressor
Digitech XP100 Whammy Wah
practice is definitely key. but practice means nothing if you can't retain the material learned so find a way that you can relate and retain the information
1 - learn the open strings...E, A, D, G, B, E
2 - familiarise yourself with the pattern of notes along the low E string, you don't even need to learn it by heart yet, just have it for reference.

E F F# G G# A Bb B C D Eb

3 - realise that the 12 fret is the octave of the open string, and therefore the same note.
4 - realise that the pattern of intervals is constant, so 12 th fret onwards is identical to open string onwards.