Hello UG,

I am a new guitarist wannabe. Three days ago I had no knowledge about guitars, or any other musical instrument for that matter, beyond their general appearance and that supposedly chicks dig 'em. Actually I want to learn banjo but thats not what this thread is about. A good friend of mine gave me an acoustic guitar, its a Fender DG100 , for my 25th birfday. I decided that since I have a guitar I might as well learn to play and so I purchased an instructional book, a tuner and a pack of picks.

My buddy has a Ovation 1985 SE that his step-dad gave him for his 18th and he thinks that he should learn to play too....so we are kinda trying to figure this thing out together. My girlfriend has a birthday coming up and she wants to learn as well so it looks like I am going to have a nice group to practice with.

We tuned out guitars which is easy as pie with a tuner and its one of the first parts of the book. Book so far-

1.) Buy expensive guitar
2.) Get it set-up
3.) Different ways to tune it
4.) How to sit and hold your guitar/plectrum
5.) Tap your foot when you play
6.) "Caterpillar" <- where I'm at