Im trying to find a Bass tube amp. My solid state does the job, but Im looking for that different sound that ive heard coming from a tube. Most of the things I have searched are strictly guitar related tube amps. Im looking for good options that are reliable and durable and does not require a whole ton of matinence. Also ones that bring out a really smooth but defined tone. I play a fender Jaguar and ive been playing for about 7 years. I play in jazz combos and in big bands, also im in a couple rock/punk/jam/whatever type of bands. My price range is anything below $1000 (usd). Any suggestions/advice/information/personal expierience that you could offer would be great.
This statement is false.
The most recent issue of bass player magazine reviewed a substantial list of tube amps...that would be where I'd start...otherwise, I can provide no further help.
I played an Ampeg tube head that I thought sounded pretty nice.
Quote by goest
The most recent issue of bass player magazine reviewed a substantial list of tube amps...that would be where I'd start...otherwise, I can provide no further help.

If you want under $1000 your best bet is to go used, and your choices are a little more limited

fender bassman 300 pro (used)
eden E300T (lucky find used)
Peavey tour vb (899 new)
Traynor YBA200 (800 new--cough* I own and love this* cough)
Maybe you could find an ampeg svt-cl for 1000 used.. maybe.
I have seen ampeg svt2-pros go for a fair bit under 1k used on ebay though.

You might also look at older Sunn, fender bassman, and traynor YBA1 amps, though these are usually lower wattage as well.

You can also just buy a tube power amp and a nice bass preamp and build an awesome rack out of those bad boys (though most tube power amps are only 100 or 120w)

Now go forth and research!
Thank you, you have renewed my faith in online shopping!
This statement is false.
Quote by Scourge441
Thunderfunk bass amps have a switch that changes between tube and solid state.