Alright ive done rhythm guitar for 5 years ( no joke ) and pretty much all I ever knew was Chords tabs.

So I am trying to really get into music and I bought this book, called Guitar Method book 1 by hal leonard.

Basically in the begining it gives you all the terms, and how the bolded notes are quarter notes the ones with the middle missing are half notes and the donut ones ( im still a newb at this lol ) are whole notes ( 1 beat per 4 ) yes you guys already know this lol.

Anyways, then it goes through ( or where I am at ) and each day you do like E F and G so on high e, open 1st and 3rd frets. then the next day the B string.

So I was wondering, is this a good book to learn by? also are there notes ( like on sheet music with staves and such ) that go beyond the open and first 3 frets? thats a freaking lot to know.. dont they run out of space ona staff? theres only so many lines..

eh I can play the spanish theme in "real music" now lol.
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
Peavey Triumph 112 120W all tube
Takamine EG333C
usually they have the notes on the staff and you have to know what octaves theyre played in. so lets say they want you to play high d on the e string, theyre not gonna have a million little lines on the staff, but have it as the d on the 2nd to top line. and youre gonna have to learn to play in different "positions". look up the note names of the frets in the different positions. what youre learning is the first position on the guitar neck, but higher than that, they have the 2nd position which uses the same notation but just at a higher pitch.

there is a lesson on cyberfret.com (or .org not sure) that has all the notes and theyre different positions. it helped me out back then.
Yes, it goes higher than 3 frets. If I'm not mistaken, it goes for as many frets as you have.
But sheet music is f*cking hard for guitar, so I wouldn't really know.

Quote by One on Sunday