I've got a girl who came to me and is interested in learning bass more than guitar. Instead of doing what i should have and referred her to a bass teacher, i said to myself "It's kinda like guitar. I can do it" and told her i'd teach her. the problem is that i don't know of any songs with simple bass lines. I don't listen for bass. Can you give me a short list of songs and excersizes to start a complete beginner out with bass? Your help is much appreciated.

-Dustin E. Pruente
Do her a favour and send her to someone who knows bass.

It's like asking a Spanish teacher to teach you French.
Quote by smb
Do her a favour and send her to someone who knows bass.

It's like asking a Spanish teacher to teach you French.

It might be more like asking a Spanish teacher to teach you Latin. They are similar in ways, but at the same time incredibly different.
Gear:

-Guitars-
Esp/LTD JH-200
Ibanez RG2EX2
Yamaha FD01

-Amps-
Marshall MGDFX250 (It was a Gift)
Peavey Vypyr 15 watt

-Effects-
Digitech DF-7
teach her where a few notes are and give her an exercise using those notes or teach her the c major scale its the easiest one
gear:
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser FR
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
Ibanez RG
Peavey Nitro
Takamine EG-351SSC
Bugera 333xl 212

My Music:
MySpace
Facebook
add me!
Is it really that different. I do know how to play bass, and it doesn't seem that different. Granted, i'm nowhere near as good with a bass as a guitar, but I know my way around the instrument. I've just never tought it to anyone before and was wondering what i should be starting out with.
Quote by dustinp
Is it really that different. I do know how to play bass, and it doesn't seem that different. Granted, i'm nowhere near as good with a bass as a guitar, but I know my way around the instrument. I've just never tought it to anyone before and was wondering what i should be starting out with.

You may be able to teach her the basics, but find her a teacher to teach her more advanced things.
Gear:

-Guitars-