I've been playing for two years and I'm looking to get something that I'll play the rest of my life. I'm upgrading from my current acoustic which is a Martin DM, Martin's budget dreadnought with laminate back.

To be honest I really don't like the guitar, it's not very warm ( I know that's suppose to be their reputation, but the highs kick me in the face everytime I strum a chord) and feels like its screaming at me if I really get into the music (strumming harder). I have to play it softly or it sounds ridiculous. The neck also doesn't feel natural at all and I feel like I'm always fighting the guitar to make it do what I want. I also would like something that I can plug in, which I can't do with this guitar.

So here are somethings that I'm looking for in a new guitar...

• Expect to spend between 1k and 2k
  • Easy playing neck, I really liked playing my friends "Taylor Big Baby", I'm not sure why but it just felt right. So anything with a neck similar to that.
  • Warm sounding, plays well when I play it loud, doesn't get muddy or to trebley.
  • Peferrably made out of a lighter wood.
  • Sounds good unplugged, I'll be playing it unplugged 95% of the time. I've never played a guitar that I've liked with a cutaway because I really like the dreadnought sound, but I could just be telling myself what I'm hearing. So I would cautiously buy a cutaway.
  • Acoustic-Electric
  • All Solid Wood
  • WOW factor when people hear it.

Like I said, I'm not going to be able to spend this much money ever again on a guitar and this will sort of be my baby for the rest of life so I want to make a good decision, thanks for taking the time to read this.

I'd also like to hear if you know of any "popular" guitars for this price range that you think would be a mistake.
Last edited by bberilam at Jul 1, 2008,