my uncle korky runs this awesome guitar school out of leeds, utah (the academy at the electric theater) and i get to visit about once a year. i am a beginner in a large way when it comes to guitar, my only guitar untill recently was a kona acoustic with a single cutout style body. i talked a lot about the guitar with korky on our last visit (a week ago) and he told me some pretty cool things, taught me how to palm mute, and some other things you just can't pick up on your own. anyway, when we were about to leave his school to go back home (slogging by car back up to sandy, oregon) he told us to wait inside while he got us some school t-shirts. when we got to the car, the shirts in question where there- inside a peavey guitar case, along with a golden gretsch 'synchromatic' electric guitar. i cried a little, coming from a house where the money for food is utilitarian and the guitar budget is zero. but i have a few questions on getting started- i have no amps, picks, etc. i have never played electric guitars until kork let me try his fender strat, and i don't know anything about the anatomy of an electric beyond the location and variety of the pickups and the other things you find on an acoustic.
so i have a few questions and one or two concerns. first the questions; what do the knobs near the bottom of the guitar do? i know about the volume knob, but the others are killing me just trying to figure out.