for an absolute beginner, yes. if you intend on going any farther than just "a beginner" then this guitar will be a waste of money.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
honestly.......if i were you........unless you are totally against the idea......i would start with an electric guitar

much easier to learn IMO
Total Failure

If every dream is a wish, then to dream of zombies is to wish for an appetite without responsibility
Electric is easier to learn on, but if you learn on an acoustic, you'll have the fingerstrength to move to any other guitar to begin with. So that's the benefit on learning on acoustic first.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
If you add just $100-150 to your budget and look hard enough you can actually get a great guitar.

For example, I got this last year: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Yamaha-FG720S-Folk-Acoustic-Guitar?sku=518275

Great sound, very smooth comfortable neck, low action. Not the best guitar, but I love it. Good for beginner to intermediate.
"Good and evil lay side by side as electric love penetrates the sky"
This is a horrible guitar. I bought it from Musicians Friend for my wife to get her started on playing guitar and it is utter crap. The guitar looks nice and sounds ok but the action is terrible and the tuners as well. I have been playing for over 30 years and after about 20 mins of trying to wrestle chords out of it I decided to send the thing back to MF.

I agree with Slovak_Ghost get an electric first but do not get the Jasimine, anything else but that.
Quote by dale-banez

my gear:
oh wait, no one cares

Quote by uncboy19