I have never built a guitar before, and i don’t know the first thing about it, im going to be a senior in high school, when i get to college should i take a wood shop class or what?? what im asking I guess is what are the first steps i should take in learning the steps, etc. This has always been a dream of mine, but i have absolutely no idea how and where to start, so tips and suggestions would be great. i don’t care the body style, and particulars, just basic steps
I'd suggest you get
Make Your Own Electric Guitar by Melvin Hiscock.

Even if you don't plan on building one soon, it's a great read.
im just about wrapping up my first build
im a senior in highschool as well
do the research. make sure you know EVERYTHING there is to know about every particular of a guitar, because if you come to a point where youre unsure of what to do, it will bring the build to a standstill. guesswork really isnt acceptable. i wasnt 150% sure about the neck pocket on my build. now its slightly crooked, which will affect the sound and playability.

a few books could help
also, troll www.tpdri.com
lots of knowledgeable guys on there. the forum is specifically for building Teles, but the same rules pretty much apply the-world-over
also, you'll need rudimentary woodworking skills to start the build
a shop class would definitely help you along
youll probably need to know how to use:
powerdrill
router
bandsaw/jigsaw/sabresaw

youll need a TON of patience, good equiptment, oh...and did i mention PATIENCE
honestly, builds can take a really long time

also, in order to do the wiring, youll need to know your way around a soldering iron
you can circumvent this by building a strat style guitar. fully loaded scratchplates, with pickups, pots, switch, and input installed are readily available, but not always of the highest quality

honestly, its a lot of fun, but its also quite and investment of time and money
best of luck
~b