I've been playing guitar for a few years...all self taught, and I can write some basic riffs on my own (nothing great...but okay stuff) however when I try to jam with a friend who already has a riff/song, I find myself lost.

I don't know much theory, just what I've taught myself (which is probably the main reason for my problem). It seem like all I really do is just follow what they do, but a little higher up, and just make a harmonic part for it...How can I make a part that's completely different, but yet goes with what he/she is playing?

Do I just need to learn more theory? It all just seems so overwhelming that I don't even know where to start. I know there's a few articles on here for complete beginners, but I tried that a year or so ago, and still found myself lost...maybe I'll just have to try it again.

P.S. I can't take lessons because I live in a small town.
I don't know why Mac users get so defensive when you call them idiots. I mean, Apple is a company that has built its entire user base around the fact that its users can't do simple things like turn their computers on.
Hey, I found myself in your shoes about a year ago. What helped me was learning a few scales, and there is an EXCELLENT theory article in Bangoodcharlotte's sig by slash_pwns I believe. Take it at your own comfortable speed, but its very much worth the read.