Ok so i have been playing for 6 years and im at a stage where i can right some pretty good stuff...my friend recorded me playing and sent it to everyone at my highschool and a huge fan base grew...everyone wanted more of my music...so i found a drummer and bass player and we started completing the songs i wrote....we finished 3 and they both left

so now im at it again this time with my best friend (he plays the rhythm guitar)

we have written over 30 songs together and we have played for small crowds of 30

we just found a drummer but he has a basic kit (a high hat,snare,a bass,a symbol,2 bongo things or whatever the hell you call them)

my friend only has an acoustic (getting his les paul in october)

so with that in mind...how can we successfully play gigs?
by bongo things I think you mean toms.

uh find a bassist. and is your best friend the rhythm player playing rhythm on an acoustic?
yes he is playing rhythm on an acoustic =/

there was a time when my other friend (he just started playing guitar 2 months ago) let my rhythm guitarist borrow his squire strat and we could actually perform...but that was like a one time thing

oh and thanks for telling me what toms were called =D

i cant find anyone who plays bass or even someone who has a bass...my rhythm guitarist said he would bounce back and forth with bass and guitar for the good of the band

is a basic drum kit good enough though? the drummer has said he is all for this band...but his kit seems like it wont hold up

my last drummer had a huge kit
it depends if the songs need a better kit. as long as it does the songs.. who cares? if it cant do the songs for whatever reason.. you already have a problem
well the drummer has potential and he is already great and can write some good stuff...better than the crap my last drummer was coming up with

im sure we can scrape by with his small kit until more money flows in

does wal-mart sell bass'?
Why don't you just do acoustic sets then for the time being?