Not sure what I am looking for here, advice, tips, thoughts? Here is the situation. I've been playing guitar for about 10 years and I'm self taught. Never really played much in bands but now I'm in one and basically there is no other way to say it, I'm not a very good live guitar player. I'm the only guitar player so when I mess up, it's pretty obvious. Even the stuff that I've written and have played countless times I'll mess up on. I'll mess up on the arpeggio picking in the verse, or slide too far on the solo, just completely screw up the solo altogether, miss a bend here and there or what not. Like I'll bend up on the D string and and somehow my finger slides under the A string as well to where I'm bending the D but the A is now sitting on top of my finger.

I'm wondering if over the years I've just developed bad techniques or something. Because like I've said I've played these songs countless times, I should have them down. In all the time I've played I never really sat down and practiced technique type stuff. I just sat down and learned how to play songs or I'd go over stuff I've already learned. Chords I have no problem with, it is when I get to individual picking and single note stuff when I have problems.
Being self taught may be the problem. I recently started taking lessons and i improved in three weeks more than i could in three months because though i could play the stuff taught to me, my picking was not economical and so i got tired quickly etc. These kinds of things may be the problem. Having someone show you how to do stuff makes everything easier.
Let's go back to five billion bpm and see how good i am.