Hey guys. I've been playing for some time now (almost 3 years), and at first I was pretty good for the time I had been playing (at least so I thought). Lately, however, I've been stuck. I have John Petrucci's Rock Discipline dvd, and I do those exercises every day, but I still feel I'm missing so much. What should I do to practice further? I'm not very good at all because I had to start all over (recently corrected the way I hold the pick, learned alternate picking, and stopped anchoring), and I can only do about 7 notes per second in the chromatic exercise in the dvd. Should I start practicing more advanced techniques (tapping, sweep picking)? Should I learn some songs so that I also practice rhythm? Should I learn more theory so my improvisation skills are better (they are very dull and boring now)? Please help. Thanks!
A similar discussion is taking place at https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=900019&page=1&pp=20 right now...

...it doesn't go too in depth into advanced techniques, as the guy who started it has only been playing a year - but some of the suggestions offered could apply to people of any skill level.

Worth a look, anyway.
Thanks! I used the search bar but didn't really know what to put to look on it :S Yea, I know my basic modes, and the blues and pentatonic and harmonic minor... But there are like a thousand more lol I'll read that discussion right now.
I would suggest learning your major scale, because it is the foundation of all your theory. Move on to more complex things such as intervals, chords, etc. ONLY after you have mastered the major scale. Learning your theory will give you much more inspiration than you may think, and it is a very useful tool to have.

From a technique standpoint, I would say get down alternate picking before you do anything else. A good alternate picking technique will be the foundation of anything else that you want to accomplish on the guitar.