I've found a metal band. Im a drummer by the way. They're kind of in a bad position since they don't have a drummer but they know some songs and apparently they have some originals. I haven't jammed with them yet but what should i do, remember, or just keep in mind the first time I do? Any tips that pissed you off about perspective drummers that made you turn in the other direction? And seeing as I don't play with alot of metally people already what should I stress when playing? Any advice will help.
get a double bass pedal, learn it, they'll love you.

but don't forget your job is to accompany, and not the overpower.
My sig used to be so awesome it got me banned
When they play their original material, have them show you a few riffs (make sure to order them mentally when you learn them) and build on the basic riffs. Also it helps if you are pretty good at double bass, metal guitarists like a drummer that can keep up with their riffs.
well, first of all don't be a retard and spend all of your time playing World of Warcraft, that happened to me once, our drummer spent all of his time in front of his computer until he eventually flunked out (college band, you know how it is) and we pretty much were unable to find a replacement for him and that's all she wrote for that band

second, yeah, double bass pedal, also you might wanna listen to some dream theatre, children of bodom, dio, black sabbath, metallica and slayer, that's pretty much all you need as far as starter metal drumming is concerned
Gear:
Ibanez RG121
Ibanez GTA15R Amp
red Allegro nylon-strung acoustic of unkown model

Quote by Mechanix

We play guitar.... we're automatically on top of the world.

^
Quote by Jastul