Ok, I have been playing guitar for about 4 years now, and I have got a lot of crucial skills down, I am able to solo, and I am improving every time i practice, and my technical skill is quite high.

But one area that I cannot seem to go is being able to work out chords myself. I am tired of having to refer to tabs to play songs, and I feel that to bring my musical skill to the next level that is the area that i need to work on.
Does anyone have any advise on this- or and websites that can help.

Cheers, Will.
It's one of those things you really just have to do.

You should try memorizing the sounds of different intervals, like play a note and then another and try to guess the interval and memorize what the two notes interacting sounds like. Then move on the adding another note, like say at first only do the 1st and the b3, and then add in the 5th.

There's a site that has some ear training pages that are pretty useful, I can't remember the URL but someone reading this will know the one I mean. It plays two random notes and you have to type in what the interval is, and there's one for pitch practice that just plays one note... yeah
Last edited by Wonthefu at Jul 3, 2008,
Quote by Wonthefu
There's a site that has some ear training pages that are pretty useful, I can't remember the URL but someone reading this will know the one I mean. It plays two random notes and you have to type in what the interval is

musictheory.net has some good ear training pages, they're at the bottom of the trainers drop down tab. I'd recommend just sticking to the interval and chord trainers for now.

In addition to training your ear, a good understanding of chord construction from scales is important. Start with the major scale and just get used to what the diatonic chords sound like in progressions.
thanks, will try that, how hard/ long is it to learn properly- I knows its an open question, but is it a particularly difficult thing to learn?