I am now at a point where everything I play seems to suck, and I am never happy with the songs I am producing or the way in which I play. I have been playing for 4 years.

Now guitar has become a bit boring to me as I have stopped composing because I'm thinking I want to be better, so everytime I play I am practising new chords and techniques. I've even got to the point where I cant be arsed to play anemore, its like a chore.

Has anyone else been at this stage, if so what did you do?
learn something extremely difficult and master it.

let the other UG'ers direct you to those songs.
First Emo of the Bass Militia PM DinkyDaisy to join
Quote by metaldud536
Did your know your son likes to fap?

Quote by Minkaro
I'd rather shove a Pidgeot up my arse than spend any time with Jimmy Page.

Quote by Table Salt
You win for making me really laugh.

add that:
Myspace
yeah thats happened to me. just keep playing and be creative. dont think about the technical side so much. its just a stage and you will get over it
I hate my sig
Or play a genre you don't usually play. OR learn theory
I had that for a while... Then I just decided I finally should try and learn to play some Satriani stuff. This was a new challenge! And got me going again. Then I figured I should really learn theory stuff, so I memorized all the notes on my fretboard, learned major/minor scales, etc. Now I'm working on using modes.

I also record some chord progressions on my acoustic and try and solo over them in different scales. Try and think of stuff you've never played or wanted to get in to (sweeping, double handed tapping, ...) and move on from there.
Yamaha RGX 520FZ
Squier Affinitys Strat (customized!)
Johnson 620 Player Acoustic

Boss HM3 hyper metal
Boss CH1 super chorus
Zoom G1X

Peavey Valveking Royal 8
New: Peavey JSX Mini Collosal
I have learned theory, not sure if theres anymore to learn after modes....
I guess thats a different question though