Okay I'm new to the whole effects pedal thing and I'm looking to buy my first.

I'd like a distorted sound suited to metal or hard rock. I'm looking for something under £75 (I don't want professional level sound, I've only been playing 2 and a half years)

Any advice is welcome (as long as it comes from personal experience, not what you've heard about a pedal)

tah
Quote by DieGarbageMan

how could you not forsee the rise of surskits!

Quote by CaptainRon
One second let me just ask my penis.

Reel Big Fish: 20/02.09
Rise Against: 22/02/09
Wow, thanks for the help man, really appreciated. Because when i started this thread I clearly wanted you to pick faults with my equipment? I'm not experienced so I don't need top class distortion, that's why I put this question to this forum.
Quote by DieGarbageMan

Quote by CaptainRon

Last edited by 24fretsftw at Jul 3, 2008,
You can try a Line 6 Uber or Boss DS-1. Try testing it at a local store just to see how it sounds through a Spider III, and whether or not you still want to go the pedal route. Digital modeling amps don't take to pedals well. I know because I had a Spider II and tried my old Digitech Grunge through it.

The Spider's Metal Green and Insane Green channels had nice distortion for metal IMO. You should invest in an FBV Express or other channel switcher, and play with your amp's EQ settings a little until you find the sound you want. You should also be able to use the Distortion Boost as well, by holding down the Tap Tempo button and turning the Gain pass 12 o'clock. Just my opinion. A channel switcher is more versatile then a pedal in this instance.
PRS SE SC ♦ Dean Cadi ♦ Squier Strat ♦ Crate V5 ♦ AXL Akita AT30 ♦ Alhambra 4P ♦ Takamine f-349 ♦ Goodall KCJ
Boss ME-20 ♦ Monteallums modded TS9DX ♦ DOD Grunge ♦ #1Echo ♦
MXR DD-11, or maybe a new amp, no jp, but seriously, the DD-11 is very nice.
Thanks for the help
I already have the FBV express, and I'll give the distortion boost a go.
Cheers.