Hey, I've run into a creative block for the past few weeks, and I find it hard to write anything, and now even to play anything. I've been playing for roughly four years, and I'm at an intermediate level.

I play a good amount of metal and hard rock, but I experiment with all styles. I used to find my skill to be satisfactory, but I'm lacking in my soloing skills, and I need to improve. Now the obvious answer would be to simply practice slower solos and work it up from there, but I've become frustrated to the point where I get angry, and can't play my guitar...any suggestions on 1. how to control my frustration/anger when playing guitar, and 2. What material should I begin to learn? Sorry to sound dramatic about the anger part, it's just I really feel that it blocks my creative outlets sometimes. Any honest suggestions are welcome
Maybe start learning some harder songs, like some Fall of Troy, Hendrix like Little Wing, or some metal like Mastodon. Learn some new scales and modes maybe, or just pratice on some speed-builders. Try something new, like learning some jazz maybe, and then try writing something from what you learn.
1. With the anger thing, since you haven't told us in detail where the anger is coming from (is it just frustration that you aren't improving fast enough or is it that you are actually having physical trouble pulling off certain licks, etc.), my best advice is just put down the instrument as soon as the anger starts and don't come back to it for at least 30 mins.