Is it necassary to memorize where all the notes are on the guitar fretboard. If so what techniques did you use or are trying to use to memorize the notes. And what could you do if you knew where the notes where.
Im a guitar noob so im just wondering if its something im going to have to do.
I think it's pretty important to know this... I would start by learning all the open string notes (EADGBE) and then going from there. Learn which notes don't have sharps/fats between them (EF, BC) and go up the fret, string by string, naming out all the notes and their sharps/flats. Some techniques include labeling the frets with their notes or writing them out on a piece of paper. Also learn octaves on the guitar to find the same note in a different place faster.
█████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████
Portugal. The Man »–
i'd say it's a pretty good thing to kno. the way i used to remember the open strings would be to say it phonetically so EADGBE would be 'eed-gbee' <---genius...i kno
but yea, spend just a couple minutes a day learning the notes on the board and your good to go.
It's not strictly necessary, but it's really useful to be able to look at a certain fret and be able to tell which note and octave it's in. You should definitely try to gain at least a basic understanding of where all notes are.
i think its more important u learn scale shapes and intervals, but learn the notes too so u can figure where the scales are lol.
It's EXTREMELY important to know all of the notes all over the fretboard. Something that is infinitely helpful is to call out the note names while practicing scales. Practice these scales in shapes that cover the entire fretboard; that way, when it comes to improvising a solo, you'll instinctively know all the notes in that scale across the board, making it much easier to improvise.