I am a guitar player for soon 15 years, I recently bought a 8 string guitar. In my music I also need bass, I know nothing about basses and strings etc, so I really need some advice of what bass to buy.

I understand that an "normal" 5 string bass will not be enough to match the extreme low frequencies on the 8 string guitar. I tune the guitar in F# on the low string, so to match the low F# I need a way more thicker string then an usual "B string".

I can also imagine to keep good sustain on such low tones you also need an extremely long scale. As I said I am a guitarist, and I know absolutely nothing about basses in general, so please help me out here, it would be deeply appreciated.

What I want is the bass to sound extremely good that is first priority, the appearance is not so important, since I will most likely not play with it outside my room. So I do not want to pay extra just for an bass to looks cool!

My budget is very limited, and I do not feel like spending much money, however, I will spend so much that I have to, to get the sound I need for my music.

Please feel free recommend basses and specific models etc
There is a $2,400 solution to your problem: the Dark Lord.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Warwick-Vampyre-BO-Dark-Lord-Bass?sku=513475

However, I'm sure you don't want to spend that much money. So I have two possible alternatives for you.

1) Just play on a 5-string. Sure, that B doesn't even go a full octave below your F#. But you could either a) tune it down, and it wouldn't go too loose, or b) just lean on the fact that a thicker bass string will put out more low frequencies than a thinner guitar string playing the same note.

2) I'm actually decently sure (I'm going to go ahead and ask for a fact crosscheck from other forumers here) that you could buy any 4-string and, with some neck adjustments, slap on the strings you would buy for that Dark Lord. The strings themselves would still be quite pricey, but not $2,400.
Les Claypool