so, I want to buy a new bass. I decided on a warwick thumb fretless 6 string.

You can get this bass in either neck through or bolt on. Whats the difference?

Currently i own a hofner bass that I've been playing for 5 years.
Neck through: Neck to body is one piece or the neck runs through the body, from top to bottom of bass. Increased sustain (Although most say it's hardly noticeable) and it basically means you need new bass if you screw with your truss rod/damage the necks. A lot of people think that neck through means better quality, not necessarily true.

Bolt on: Neck is bolted on to the body and therefore is replaceable if you do some neck damage. People say it's better for slap bass as it gets more of an "oomf"
Quote by soccermom
The only epic thing about the bass forum is Pete Wentz penis. Its Epic. Epic penis.
BASS, MT, AND PIT JUNKIE

The only distinct advantage you can have with an NT is that you will have better fret access. However, Warwick BO basses have quite good fret access to boot. Neither is really better. NT is obviously more expensive. The difference between the two is the tone, with BO being snappier. And as ATB said you can replace the neck. However, if you damage a Warwick neck to the point where it has to be replaced, then you shouldn't play one. lol

Oh, have you TRIED the bass in question? It is pretty much the opposite of a Hofner (which I assume you have a violin bass). lol
Fret access is more to do with body shape and NT basses allow the body shape to be much more friendly to access the frets. In a NT/BO model, this wont matter, you'll have the same access on both basses.

A good BO will give you good fret access and killer sustain. I played a Bongo yesterday, sustains for ever and you can reach the E on the 24th fret with no problem at all.

Studies have been carried out on the sustain differences between NTs and BOs and a NT will have a negliable sustain difference over a BO of similar quality. However, tonally theyre different.