I've been playing for 4-5 years and think it's about time to upgrade from my starter "Ashton" guitar. The amp is a Fender Frontman 212R (yes I was tricked into buying it, I was told they were good amps). I play through a zoom 505 II :|

I was thinking about buying an Ibanez RG series (I like stuff like BFMV/Atreyu/A7X and Billy Talent/Cancer Bats/Alexisonfire)

and

A Boss Metalcore distortion pedal (because the distortion on the Frontman is horrible)

Does this sound like a good idea for an upgrade? At the moment my tone is terrible. Sounds like I'm playing over a radio even when I have bass and treble maxxed.
It's a good upgrade from what you have. I can't believe you bought the fender amp. haha
Epiphone G-400!!!!!!!!

Washburn Bass!!!

Cordovox tube amp

Crate bass amp!!!

Kustom PA
If you like RGs go for it as long as it doesn't have a trem (I assume you aren't going prestige).

Don't bother with the metal core. If you must get a distortion pedal before you get a new amp, I recommend the Metal Muff.
Quote by T!AN
If you like RGs go for it as long as it doesn't have a trem (I assume you aren't going prestige).

Don't bother with the metal core. If you must get a distortion pedal before you get a new amp, I recommend the Metal Muff.

+1 on the metal muff they are sooo much better
Quote by pcell619
It's a good upgrade from what you have. I can't believe you bought the fender amp. haha

everyone makes mistakes.

i suggest you buy a new amp first. thats where the core of your tone is going to come from. its useless buying pedals for a not so great amp. try going for a tube combo. B-52 makes a nice all tube combo thats only like $600. a tube amp will make a HUGE difference in your tone.
go play aorund at guitar center or another guitar store for a little while, play with the amps and such, than decide from there.
Quote by pcell619

Shut up !