So I'm looking to buy an Ashdown MAG 300 combo amp, but there are options in 115 combo and 210 combo. The 210 costs $70 USD more and I'm curious how these would compare.

I'm no newbie to bass, and I'm pretty critical of my tone but I've never played a 115 next to a 210 of the same model to compare their sound. I know that a 210 will have more punch and defined highs, but will this sacrifice much of the low end? I'm using a 5 string in standard tuning and I still want my low notes to have a solid presence.

If the 210 has comprable bass to the 115, I'd go with that even for the extra $ but I'm not sure whether I would sacrifice bass.

I'd love any insight that you guys have on which I should buy.

Thanks
Quote by tunasband
Who's ug?
I have a MAG300 combo 2x10 also with a 1x15 cab. The 2x10 by itself sounds good with a nice high end, and the low end is alright. It lacked a little of the low end which was fixed when i plugged in the 1x15.

The 1x15 by itself is good with more bass but a little less highs although it still is nice. I think that going with the 1x15 could be better because it has good bass and a pretty good higher end and is, as you say, $70 cheaper.
Quote by allym94
I have a MAG300 combo 2x10 also with a 1x15 cab. The 2x10 by itself sounds good with a nice high end, and the low end is alright. It lacked a little of the low end which was fixed when i plugged in the 1x15.

The 1x15 by itself is good with more bass but a little less highs although it still is nice. I think that going with the 1x15 could be better because it has good bass and a pretty good higher end and is, as you say, $70 cheaper.

Thanks. I guess what I'm looking for is the amp which would be able to stand up on its own until I can afford an extension cab.
Quote by tunasband
Who's ug?
I see it as the two 10" pushing more air then one 15"
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
2x10" > 1x15" (air pusshing)