Hi, I have had a certain tone in my mind that I really really like for awhile. I can't really describe it because I'm not good at that sort of thing. I have a very ****ty amp, so I can't quite get any type of tone currently. That will al change soon when I get a Peavey classic 30. The link to this tone I love so much is here. Could someone who knows a bit about tone tell me what accessories (pickups, etc) I need to help me get this awesome overdriven tone? Obviously I would need a ts9, which I have. Will I just be able to plug into the classi 30 with the ts9 and get this tone?
well first of all it's in the hands. But maybe some 57 classic pickups or whatever the Gibson custom SG's have. lowish gain on the amp, and tube screamer maxed out.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
well before getting new pickups i suggest getting a better amp. ive learned that amps are more important in tone than pickups are.
Last.fm

"Music is a language of emotion. It informs our words with FEELING, and doesn't need to be learned.. It's visceral and innate" - Jason Silva
Yeah, I think it's good enough to get that tone. Yeah it's in the hands. Lol if you can't play no tone will save you. But that lick doesn't sound hard at all, and it just snarls like hell. It sounds like vintage pickups though, am I right?
So, Maybe some seymour duncan alcino II pro's and a tubescreamer will do the trick?
Quote by forsaknazrael
I don't think the TS is necessary, TBH. The Classic 30 has some good OD on it. What kind of guitar do you have?

I almost agree. It can get raunchy, but I think the TS adds a nice bit of punch as well.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb