Page 1 of 2
I have been playing bass guitar for nearly 7 months now and before starting I already had a strong habit of cracking my fingers. My father says that musicians that play stringed instruments should not crack their fingers, but I don't know how much of this is true. Can it actually be detrimental to my playing ability or to my health at all to crack my fingers as a bass player?
I realized I was god when I prayed and saw that I was talking to myself.
It doesn't matter. It's just air pockets or something bursting. A chiropractor told me this, so I'm pretty sure it's reliable. It shouldn't have any bad effects.
All your base are belong to us.
ive been told the same thing, that it was bad for finger joints and all that, but when i asked my physician about it he said it was basically just a myth and that it does nothing bad. i have the habit of crackin my knuckles all the time and cannot stop >.<
Quote by Swat Man
if you get an MG you support terrorism
Quote by Xp3ns1v3
It's just air pockets or something bursting.

That. It's like popping bubble wrap, thats the noise, it wont give you arthritis. I've cracking my fingers for years and nothing is wrong with my fingers(hell i even crack my toes). It's like one of those things parents would tell kids to scare them out of doing it.
If I were to make a list of things musicians do that they shouldn't, doubtful if knuckle cracking would be on that list. I mean, take Nikki Sixx for an example. I read his book, the Heroin Diaries. All these crazy things... he even uses a Gibson Thunderbird!

But seriously, I crack my knuckles all the time. Like someone else said, it's just gas buildup.

EDIT: I even crack my knuckes in two places. And my toes, and my back and neck. Yeah, OK, maybe I do need help.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
Last edited by thefitz at Jul 9, 2008,