Page 1 of 2
I'm a left-handed bassist looking to buy my next bass, and then Fender Standard Jazz Bass caught my eye. I noticed there is an american and a mexican version, the mexican being around $500 and the american being about $1500. Is there any huge difference, is the mexican bass a good buy? Have you guys played these basses before? What were your thoughts?

Thanks in advance, I greatly appreciate the help.
I have played both the mexican and american. The mexican fenders play great and seem to be good intermediate basses whereas the american are more high end. In my opinion it's not worth the 1000 for an american.
the MIM (Made in Mexico) supports my homeland. however, it is not as nice as the MIA (American), which has more well made parts, tougher inspections, and better quality wood. however, unless you are playing them right next to each other, you will be hard pressed to find people who can tell by sound the difference. I would go with the MIM, and maybe get some effects or something if it was me, but it is your choice. just remember- it is quality that is the difference.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
Quote by Another bassist
I'm a left-handed bassist looking to buy my next bass, and then Fender Standard Jazz Bass caught my eye. I noticed there is an american and a mexican version, the mexican being around $500 and the american being about $1500. Is there any huge difference, is the mexican bass a good buy? Have you guys played these basses before? What were your thoughts?

Thanks in advance, I greatly appreciate the help.

i've owned both and yes, the MIM(made in mexico) is a good buy. but be assured of the fact that the MIA is well worth the extra money. buy what is in your budget.